Nestled along the peaceful banks of the River Trent

Find out more

A Picturesque Countryside setting

Nestled along the serene and picturesque banks of the River Trent, The Priest House boasts a rich history that can be traced back almost 1,000 years.

Built around a historic mill tower featuring its own charming water wheels, this 42-bedroom hotel offers an ideal setting for a romantic getaway, an exclusive conference destination, or a truly picturesque wedding venue.

We welcome you to unwind and truly make yourself at home with us.

Book a stay Book a table
  • Explore
  • Explore
  • Explore

Relax, Indulge & unwind

We’ve hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting.

Fine dine in our beautiful restaurant dining room or relax in our newly renovated Millstream Brasserie where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months.

Book a table
Share in our history

Share in our history

The Norman Mill Tower of The Priest House on the River, and the water wheels, are all that is left of a Mill Complex which dates back to the time of the Doomsday Book, when it was valued at "Ten Shillings and a Penny".

The crown owned the Mill until 1581 when Queen Elizabeth I granted the land to Edward Ferrers and Francis Phillips.

Kings Mills

The area became known as “Kings Mills” when, for a brief time, the power of the water wheels was used to “stamp” coins of realm.

There were originally five Water Mills, which were used for “Fulling” (taking greasiness out of woollen cloth) and for grinding corn. When a windmill was built in Castle Donington in 1672 trade suffered, so in 1680 one of the Mills became a Paper Mill. Later, a second became a Plaster Mill and then a third began trade as a Button Factory. Only three Mills remained in business.

The Priest House

Loyalist garrisons in the Civil War, the Mills were besieged on February 15th, 1664 and it seems likely that the main defending forces were in The Priest House. After taking the cliff, the Roundheads “beat down the windows and stormed in”.

The Mills were destroyed by a fire in 1927; the tenants at the time were Bass, Ratcliffe and Gretton. By the time the Burton-on-Trent Fire Brigade arrived it was too late to save anything but The Norman Tower of The Priest House today.

Book a stay Book a table